Chair of Governors - Mr Ian Trotman (Local Authority Governor) Mr Trotman can be contacted via the school office

Vice Chair of Governors – Mr Simon Wilson (Co-opted Governor)


Governors are volunteers who are care about the school and are here to make sure that every child is given the best education, opportunities and experiences that the school can provide. The Governors work extremely closely with the school. They regularly challenge and question the school's leaders to ensure that everyone is working together and to ensure that every child achieves their very best.

What do Governors do?

  • Together with the headteacher they are responsible for making sure the school provides a good quality education.
  • They provide challenge and support to the headteacher, drawing on their knowledge and experience.
  • They make decisions together on matters such as performance, finances,targets, school policies and school development plans.
  • They monitor the impact of policies and oversee school budgets and staffing.
  • They report on school achievements and respond to inspection recommendations.
  • They hear appeals and consider complaints.
  • They ask questions and are 'critical friends'.

The Governing Body is not just made up of people who work in school. There are Community Governors, Local Authority Governors, Staff Governors and Parent Governors.

At Neston Primary School all Governors put the needs of the children at the heart of the decisions they make. Governors are involved in any decisions made which will have an impact on the school e.g. setting the annual budget, appointing staff, safeguarding children and staff, approving all the school policies. Governors are also involved with sub committees which discuss finance, staffing, budgets, health and safety, school dinners, future plans...

All the Governors work extremely hard and happily give up their time because they are extremely proud of what Neston Primary School has achieved in the past and what we are trying to achieve today.

If you would  like to contact any of the Governors, please leave a message with the office staff.


Who are our Governors? (November 2017)

Chair of Governors - Mr Ian Trotman (Local Authority Governor)

Vice Chair of Governors – Mr Simon Wilson (Co-opted Governor)

Mrs Kate Davies (Parent Governor)

Mr Richard Shuker (Parent Governor)

Mr Gareth Powell (Co-opted Governor)

Mrs Lindsey Hinks (Co-opted Governor)

Mrs Linda Pritchard (Co-opted Governor)

Mrs Sarah Rudd (Co-opted Governor)

Mrs Amanda Powell (Co-opted Governor)

Mrs Carole Cottrell (Assoc. Governor)

Mrs Annabel Elliott (Staff Governor)

Mr Rob Golding (Headteacher)


Health and Safety Governor – Ian Trotman.

Numeracy Link Governor - Linda Pritchard

Early Years  Link Governor - Amanda Powell

SEND, Safeguarding, CiC, Pupil Premium - Linda Pritchard

Files to Download

Contact the School

Neston Primary School

Burton Road, Neston,
CH64 9RE

Main Contact: Carole Cottrell (Bursar)

Tel: 0151 338 2500
Fax: 0151 353 0992

What's Being Said?